Congressional Contacts

The Congressional leadership, committees and subcommittees listed here are responsible for CTE authorizing legislation through the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Improvement Act of 2006—and for appropriating federal funds to support and sustain quality CTE programs nationwide. When action calls, we rally the CTE community to contact representatives in their states and legislators on key committees. It is critical that you express your support for CTE. The list of key individuals in Congress is below.

CTE Congressional Caucus members

Congressional Leadership: Senate

  • President of the Senate: Joseph Biden, U.S. Vice President
  • President Pro Tempore: Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
  • Senate Majority Leader: Senator Harry Reid (D-NV)
  • Senate Majority Whip: Senator Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)
  • Senate Minority Leader: Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • Senate Minority Whip: Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)

Congressional Leadership: House of Representatives

  • House Speaker: Speaker John Boehner (R-OH-8)
  • House Majority Leader: Representative Eric Cantor (R-VA-7)
  • House Majority Whip: Representative Kevin McCarthy (R-CA-22)
  • House Minority Leader: Representative Nancy Pelosi (D-CA-8)
  • House Minority Whip: Representative Steny Hoyer (D-MD-5

Key Committees

  • U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions
    Chairman: Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
    Ranking Member: Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
  • U.S. House Committee on Education and the Workforce 
    Chairman: Representative John Kline (R-MN-2)
    Ranking Member: Representative George Miller (D-CA-7)
  • U.S. House Education and the Workforce Subcommittee on Early Childhood, Elementary, and Secondary Education
    Chairman: Representative Todd Rokita (R-IN-4)
    Ranking Member: Representative Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY-4)
  • U.S. House Education and the Workforce Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Training
    Chairman: Representative Virginia Foxx (R-NC-5)
    Ranking Member: Representative Ruben E. Hinojosa (D-TX-15)
  • U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations
    Chairman: Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
    Ranking Member: Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL)
  • U.S. Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, HHS, Education and Related Agencies
    Chairman: Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
    Ranking Member: Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS), Ranking Member
  • U.S. House Committee on Appropriations
    Chairman: Representative Hal Rogers (R-KY-5)
    Ranking Member: Representative Nita Lowey (D-NY-18)
  • U.S. House Education and the Workforce Subcommittee on Health, Employment, Labor and Pensions
    Chairman: Representative David Roe (R-TN-1)
    Ranking Member: Representative John Tierney (D-MA-6)