Executive Committee

The members of the Advance CTE Executive Committee are elected by the membership to serve one-year terms. The FY20 officers, who are listed below, will serve from July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020.

Sarah Heath, Ph.D. , President 
Dr. Sarah Heath is the State Director for Career and Technical Education for Colorado.  In Colorado, Career and Technical Education is managed by the Colorado Community College System and she serves as the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. Dr. Heath has been in this position since July 2015.  Prior to her appointment as State CTE Director, Dr. Heath was the Director of Choice Programs for Jefferson County Public Schools, one of the largest school districts in Colorado, for four years.  In this role, she was responsible for Career and Technical Education, concurrent enrollment, business and industry partnerships, legislative implementation, and career development initiatives for the district.  Prior to this role in Jefferson County Schools, Dr. Heath served the State of Georgia as the Program Director for Business and Computer Science.  Georgia is a state driven education system and Dr. Heath was tasked with state wide curriculum and resource development, professional development, and support for teachers in every school district in Georgia.  She taught high school Business Education and served as her local FBLA chapter adviser.  In addition to her work experience, Dr. Heath served as the National President of the Association for Career and Technical Education as well as the Business Education Division Vice President which provided her opportunities to engage in the national CTE landscape.  She is a graduate of the University of Georgia from which she holds a PhD in Workforce and Economic Education, a MEd in Business Education, and a BBA in Management Information Systems. 

 Dr. Marcie Mack, Vice President 
Dr. Marcie Mack, state director of the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, has been focusing on providing a high-quality education for Oklahomans for more than 25 years. Before becoming the eighth state director of CareerTech, she served as the deputy state director/chief operations officer and the interim state director for the department. Prior to coming to CareerTech, she served in various other capacities at Autry Technology Center in Enid. Dr. Mack continues her passion for CareerTech through building partnerships with business and industry, engaging nationally to represent Oklahoma CareerTech and continually advocating for students. Dr. Mack was honored by Advance CTE as the recipient of the 2017 Star of Education Rising Star Award. This award is presented to a state CareerTech director who displays unequivocal commitment to the goals and overall mission of Advance CTE. Mack earned a doctorate in educational administration and leadership from Oklahoma State University, where she also completed her master’s degree in telecommunications management. She also earned a bachelor of science degree in education at Oklahoma State University, and has a true passion for quality education.  

Heather Justice, Secretary/Treasurer
Heather Justice,is the Division Director for College, Career and Military Preparation within the Texas Education Agency. In her role, she oversees Career and Technical Education, Work-Based Learning, industry certifications, and College and Career Readiness School Models such as Early College High Schools, Pathways in Technology Early College High Schools, Industry Cluster Innovative Academies, and Texas STEM Academies. Prior to joining the Texas Education Agency, Heather was the Executive Director of Career and Technical Education for the Tennessee Department of Education. She managed the comprehensive reform of career and technical education programs of study, instituted data sharing agreements to obtain industry certification data, overhauled licensing of CTE educators, and established a statewide professional development model for CTE educators. She holds a bachelor's degree in business administration and a masters degree in education.

Bernadette Howard, Past President
Howard moved to the Pacific from Kentucky in 1975 and taught in Micronesia and Guam for 14 years before settling for the last 26 years in Hawaii. Twenty of those years were with the University of Hawaii (UH) Community Colleges and the last six as State Director for CTE.  In Guam and the Hawaii community colleges, Howard served in a variety of positions including as CTE faculty CTE Dean. Howard boasts a total of 16 years experience as a CTE administrator and has served as the Region IX representative on the Advance CTE Board of Directors for six years representing Hawaii, Guam, and Palau.