The mission of Career and Technical Education in Alaska is to provide all Alaskan students with the knowledge and skills necessary for successful transition to further education and careers, and equip them with the lifelong ability to succeed in a dynamic global economy.

CTE Delivery: 

CTE is offered through the following institutions:

  • Comprehensive high schools
  • Magnet schools
  • Area technical centers
  • Charter schools
  • Online Alaska Learning Network
  • Community colleges
  • Four-year universities
Secondary Indicators: 
Secondary Targets Met?2014-152015-16
Academic Skills - Reading/Language ArtsYesYes
Academic Skills - MathematicsYesYes
Technical Skill AttainmentYesYes
School CompletionYesYes
Student Graduation RatesYesYes
Nontraditional ParticipationNoYes
Nontraditional CompletionYesYes
Postsecondary Indicators: 
Postsecondary Targets Met?2014-152015-16
Technical Skill AttainmentYesYes
Credential, Certificate or DegreeYesYes
Student Retention or TransferNoYes
Student PlacementYesYes
Nontraditional ParticipationYesYes
Nontraditional CompletionYesYes
Perkins Funding: 
YearFY 2016FY 2017
Total Perkins Funds Received$4,214,921$4,214,921
Percentage of local funds distributed to Secondary 86%
Percentage of local funds distributed to Postsecondary 14%
Career Clusters: 

Alaska does not use the Career Clusters framework to organize the state's programs or standards at the secondary level. Rather, Alaska has its own structure of CTE, which is crosswalked to the Career Clusters for federal reporting. They have effectively integrated Career Clusters into the State Plan. They have also required local Perkins plans to incorporate Career Clusters, required accountability information to be collected by Career Clusters, and benchmarked existing program standards against Career Cluster knowledge and skill statements. Alaska has also used Career Clusters to support effective transitions between secondary and postsecondary education.

Programs of Study: 

Alaska implements programs within 12 Career Clusters (see below). Given that Alaska does not have state-adopted standards, no relationship exists between state standards, Career Clusters, and programs of study, except for the Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) Career Cluster, due to a requirement set by the state in a Perkins-funded competitive grant program.  

  • Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources Career Cluster
  • Architecture & Construction Career Cluster
  • Arts, A/V Technology & Communications Career Cluster
  • Business Management & Administration Career Cluster
  • Education & Training Career Cluster
  • Health Science Career Cluster
  • Hospitality & Tourism Career Cluster
  • Information Technology Career Cluster
  • Law, Public Safety, Corrections & Security Career Cluster 
  • Manufacturing Career Cluster
  • Marketing Career Cluster
  • Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics Career Cluster
  • Transportation, Distribution & Logistics Career Cluster
Perkins Eligible Agency: 

Alaska Department of Education and Early Development 

State Director: 
Deborah Riddle
State CTE Director
Alaska Department of Education and Early Development
P.O. Box 110500 
Juneau, AK 99811-0500
Secondary to Postsecondary Transition & Alignment: 

Alaska offers dual enrollment and concurrent/transcripted credit to ease the transition from secondary to postsecondary. Alaska specifically provides policy/guidance for locally-developed credit transfer programs rather than offering statewide articulation agreements.

Resources & Data: 

See here for an explanation of the data used for state profiles.