The mission of Oklahoma CTE is to prepare Oklahomans to succeed in the workplace, in education and in life. The shared vision of its secondary and postsecondary CTE programs is to secure Oklahoma's future by developing a world-class workforce.

CTE Delivery: 

CTE is offered through the following institutions: 

  • Comprehensive high schools
  • Technology centers
  • Community colleges
Secondary Indicators: 
Secondary Indicators2015-162016-17
Academic Skills - Reading/Language ArtsYesYes
Academic Skills - MathematicsYesYes
Technical Skill AttainmentYesYes
School CompletionYesYes
Student Graduation RatesNoNo
Nontraditional ParticipationYesYes
Nontraditional CompletionYesYes
Postsecondary Indicators: 
Postsecondary Indicators 2015-162016-17
Technical Skill AttainmentYesYes
Credential, Certificate or DegreeYesYes
Student Retention or TransferYesYes
Student PlacementYesYes
Nontraditional ParticipationYesYes
Nontraditional CompletionNoYes
Perkins Funding: 
YearFY 2018FY 2019
Total Perkins Funds Received$15,094,180$15,996,375
Percentage of local funds distributed to Secondary 86%
Percentage of local funds distributed to Postsecondary14%
Career Clusters: 

Oklahoma’s Department of Career and Technology Education has organized its secondary Skills Standards into fifteen Career Clusters around the 16 Career Clusters® and based on state workforce requirements. Oklahoma has programs within the following Career Clusters:

  • Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources Career Cluster
  • Architecture & Construction Career Cluster
  • Arts, A/V Technology & Communications Career Cluster
  • Business Management & Administration Career Cluster
  • Education & Training Career Cluster
  • Finance Career Cluster
  • Health Science Career Cluster
  • Human Services Career Cluster
  • Information Technology Career Cluster
  • Law, Public Safety, Corrections & Security Career Cluster
  • Manufacturing Career Cluster 
  • Marketing Career Cluster
  • Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics Career Cluster
  • Transportation, Distribution & Logistics Career Cluster


Programs of Study: 

Oklahoma is in the process of revising the state’s programs of study through a Rigorous Program of Study grant.

Perkins Eligible Agency: 

Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education

State Director: 
Dr. Marcie Mack
State CTE Director
Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education
1500 West Seventh Avenue
Stillwater, OK 7404


Excellence in Action Award Winners: 

Indian Capital Technology Center, Nursing Transition 

Health Science Career Cluster
Students in the Nursing Transition program of study at the Indian Capital Technology Center in Muskogee, Oklahoma engage in a rigorous curriculum paired with relevant clinical instruction in a variety of settings. Indian Capital Technology Center serves 51 area high schools, and was designed to help increase the number of practical nurses in the workforce.
Secondary to Postsecondary Transition & Alignment: 

Oklahoma encourages credit transfer linkages between public colleges or universities that offer the Associates in Applied Science (AAS) degree and the technology centers. These linkages, known as the Cooperative Assistance Program, are student-centered partnerships organized to encourage and facilitate progress toward college graduation. A Cooperative Alliance is an agreement between one or more institutions in the Oklahoma State System for Higher Education and one technology center. Cooperative Alliances are agreed-to by partners and their governing boards, and also require the review and approval of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education and the State Board of Career and Technology Education.

Oklahoma also maintains statewide articulation agreements in 15 of the 16 Career Clusters, as well as dual enrollment and concurrent/transcripted credit to ease the transition from secondary to postsecondary.

Resources & Data: 

See here for an explanation of the data used for state profiles.