Advance CTE Announces 2023-2024 Board of Directors


Advance CTE Announces 2023-2024 Board of Directors

Silver Spring, MD – July 11, 2023 – Advance CTE is pleased to announce its 2023-2024 Board of Directors, who were recently elected by its nationwide network of members. Together, they represent 11 states and an array of professional backgrounds culminating in decades of experience supporting high-quality, equitable Career Technical Education (CTE) at the state level.

“Advance CTE has provided me unparalleled support and opportunities to develop myself as a leader and be empowered to truly make CTE in Nebraska an experience where every learner can thrive. I am honored to give back to the organization that has given me so much by serving as Board President,” stated Dr. Katie Graham, Board President and Nebraska State CTE Director. “I look forward to supporting my colleagues on the Board and across the country to continue making progress towards every learner having access to high-quality CTE, and every decision about CTE being made with a learner-first mentality.”

“I am very grateful to have the opportunity to work with a diverse, passionate and experienced team of state CTE leaders and champions during my first year as Executive Director.” stated Kate Kreamer, Executive Director of Advance CTE as of July 1, 2023. “Their perspectives are invaluable to ensuring we not only meet the needs of our members, but that we continue to serve as a leading voice on what is needed to deliver CTE without limits for each learner and in doing so keep CTE at the forefront of national education and workforce policy.”

More information about members of the Board of Directors can be found here.


Advance CTE 2023-2024 Board of Directors 

President: Dr. Katie Graham, State CTE Director, Nebraska Department of Education

Vice President: Thalea Longhurst, State CTE Director, Utah State Board of Education

Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Brittney Baptiste Williams, State CTE Director, Louisiana Community & Technical College System

Past President: Ms. Laura Scheibe, State CTE Director, South Dakota Department of Education


Regional Representatives:

Dr. Michelle Aldrich, State CTE Director, Wyoming Department of Education

Elizabeth Bennett, State CTE Director, Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Jennell Ives, State CTE Director, Oregon Department of Education

Dr. Colleen McCabe, State CTE Director, Wisconsin Technical College System


Associate Member Representative:  Donna Lewelling, Oregon

State Associate Member Representative: Victoria Crownover, Colorado

At-Large Representatives:

Dennis Harden Ed.D, State CTE Director, Iowa Department of Education

Wayde Sick, State CTE Director, North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education
Read Advance CTE’s latest annual report on the achievement of the Board and the organization in elevating CTE across federal and state policy, leading on equity and access, and developing national landscape research and cutting-edge resources.



About Advance CTE

Advance CTE is the longest-standing national non-profit that represents State Directors and state leaders responsible for secondary, postsecondary and adult Career Technical Education (CTE) across all 50 states and U.S. territories. Established in 1920, Advance CTE supports state CTE leadership to advance high-quality and equitable CTE policies, programs and pathways that ensure career and college success without limits for each learner.

Media Contact: Stacy Whitehouse,